Posted by: Molly | March 22, 2010

And then there were 8!

We ended up getting way more eggs that I ever dreamed possible when doing a split cycle.  Started with 11!  That means at least 32 were retrieved.  Oh my!  8 are doing perfectly as of today.  WOW!  I am over the moon happy and anxious to hear the report tomorrow.  Praying for a 5 day transfer!  8 seems to be my lucky number these days.

In PIO news the shots are not as bad as I feared.  Maybe it’s just me, but I think the estrogen is much thicker to inject.  PIO seems lighter?  I can feel it a bit more after, but if I flex that muscle after it is less painful later.  It does take longer to inject, but it is more medicine so that part makes sense.

So now the bedrest debate.  They say 24 hours.  I have friends saying 48 hours and to do nothing all weekend too.   We have a party to go to about 36 hours in and while I love to skip it DH does not.  And he wants me by his side.  ugh.  At least I can sit down the whole time.  And I only have a 4 day work week the following week and then we test that next Monday so it will be a light week in terms of stress.  whoohoo!

Responses

  1. Congratulations for 8 healthy little embryos! I’ll be keeping my fingers crossed for a day 5 transfer for you and hopefully a couple to freeze as well. As to the bedrest, I don’t agree with laying around for a few days and neither did my RE. I’d give it 24 to 48 hours then you should be fine – but no vacuuming (seriously, I wasn’t allowed to vacuum).

  2. Congrats on the 8! I believe in 24hrs for sure, but my RE just said take it easy. I felt that if I had the next day available I would stay off my feet and let my DH do stuff. And definitely, no housework, no heavy lifting, no lifting about your head apparently (that’s what I was told), and no hot showers.

  3. Wow! You’re really on your way. Thinking of you and hoping for the very best for your transfer.

  4. Oh, exciting!!!!
    I’m just a few days behind you.. I am going for my lining check today and retrieval is supposed to be in a few days..
    Thanks for your comment btw. You are my very first! It would be cool if we did live nearby…

  5. Wow, that is a fantastic number. Good luck! Hoping for the best transfer.


Categories

