Posted by: Molly | November 25, 2009

Happy Thanksgiving!

Since I am going to be “out” of commission while I’m at the relatives I thought I’d just post this a day early.  I’m sure it would be much more hilarious tomorrow as I am now just imaging the day and am already super annoyed by the thought of how it might turn out.  I’m just in a pissy mood.   I shouldn’t be though because I am getting the next four days off work – with PAY!  Woohoo!  okay starting to feel a bit less pissy….

Let me start by saying I’m not a tradition person in the sense that some of my relatives insist on.   I do love to celebrate the holidays, but they can each be done differently.  They can be at different houses.  Hosted by different relatives.  We can try new dishes.  No need to make sure it’s exactly the same each year.  And it can be a totally different crowd.  So every other year we are either with my IL’s or my family – loving that type of distance as I’m not forced into way too many celebrations in a short time period. 

With my family we go different places and try new foods.  By new I mean a new stuffing recipe, a new way to cook the turkey and maybe a new dessert.   We might eat at 1:00 or 5:00 – it’s all about where we are and how it fits into the day.   We are not creatures of habit.  The IL’s however must have each Thanksgiving at grandma’s at 1:00 pm and the menu does NOT vary.  This year in fact the turkey is being cooked elsewhere and taken to her house.  That is a pissing point for me.   I love the smell of turkey being cooked!  It is heavenly.  When you take it elsewhere to eat it I think it loses something.  I’m just weird. I know.  The best part.  It’s a 21 pound turkey for NINE – yes 9 people. Now I love turkey and will eat a sandwich the day after or maybe make Turkey Divan, but that is it!  So what do they think we are doing with 10 pounds of leftover turkey – maybe more?  Can we say I’m going to be dieting because I am not eating it all weekend long.    Or sneaking out to PF Changs for a treat.  A secret treat.  I might try to drag along a cousin, but that always turns into a fiasco with everyone wanting to come with us.  I guess we are a lot of fun?  I love having one on one or small group (no more than 4) girl time.  And I’m talking baby bearing age girl time – not menopause girl time.   See I said I’m cranky.  I really think making a turkey that big is gluttonous and piggy.  There are people starving out there so why do we need so much turkey?  I am breaking tradition – no one knows yet – and am bringing two pies that I made last night from scratch.  The crust is to die for!  Secret recipe that I will share if it goes over well.  The test pie I brought to work was gobbled up in no time with lots of lick lipping so I am pretty sure it was a hit.

I really do have a lot to be thankful for.  I am thankful that everyone in my family is heathly this year and we are all intact.  I have a new nephew, who I won’t see, but am thankful for.   We both have our jobs and can afford this next step in the baby making process (or at least will qualify for the loan).  I am happy that we have yet to get any snow!  And I’m very thankful that Christmas is at my house this year!  See said I was crazy!

Happy Thanksgiving to all!

Responses

  1. Happy Thanksgiving in advance! Your relatives may surprise you and eat more of that turkey than you’re expecting!


Categories

